top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMelissa Dollheiser

Lisboa [Lisbon] Portugal Part II

Four years ago on my first trip to Lisbon, I was so impressed I knew I had to come back to this city again. Out of all the travels that I so gratefully have been on, Lisbon is one that ranks high in my books. What draws me most to this city is how real, imperfect, yet charming it is. There are endless alley ways that lead you to either an authentic eatery or cafe, another one leading to an artist studio, the next one is adorned in street art, and the rest lead you this way and that way until your Google Maps is literally lost. And with each corner you turn there is something new to be taken in and discovered. It is located right on the water, which is always a plus point for me and is home to many other exciting things - what exactly? ...you'll have to visit in order to find out ;) Oh and, Lisbon keeps you as fit as an athlete with the steepness of its streets! ... makes eating all the pastel de nata's worth it ;)


The week was spent together with my friends Caroline, Nathalie, and Joseph - a travel crew I am very grateful to have. The four of us knew what was being awaited on this vacation -

fun, exploration, a sunny beach day, a night or two out, laughs and great food and drinks, (and yes even meat eaters and vegans can travel together and enjoy many meals out). In this travel crew the large majority of the time we were always in agreement as to what we wanted to do, see, or eat and on the rare occasion we didn't agree we simply respected each other's differing needs and came to a compromising resolution. I think we would be solid enough to travel to the ends of the earth and still enjoy each other's company. And on a side note let's encourage hyping each other up in friendships - this dynamic is one of much love, genuine appreciation and respect.


The majority of our time was spent in Lisbon and the last fews days in Porto. In between that we went to the neighbouring town of Lisbon, named Cascais. Another day we had lunch in a cute surfer/beach town called Ericeira followed by a visit to a very impressive sandy beach named Praia de S.Julião - absolute dream spot!!


On the first night in Lisbon we went clubbing pre-Corona style and it felt great, liberating and also exhausting! I think that was enough party fun for the next six months or so. The rest of our time in Lisbon can be summed up as walking up many steep hills, zig-zagging every which way through alley ways, eating, eating pastel de nata's (Caroline and I set a record of four or five in one day), photo taking, chatting, more food, more photos, OH and one highlight for me ... second hand/vintage shopping!! I would say all in all it was a pretty fantastic vacation with friends.


Apart from the fact that we unfortunately ended up getting sick yet made the very best out of this trip and enjoyed many laughs and inside jokes along the way. I very much look forward to the next travel adventure I get to embark upon with this crew of friends!


P.S. In past posts I have shared and linked my recommendations for restaurants, bakeries, cafes, bars, or second hand shops but coming out of a wave of brain fog from being sick my mental capabilities are still waning ... however, scroll and enjoy some of my favourite captured moments from this travel adventure :) Obrigada!!


This trip wouldn't have been the same without this travel crew!

Alfama, Lisbon's oldest district.


There something very southern about hanging your laundry out to dry.



This one area in particular has great street art

Even some of the trams are covered




The tile work in Portugal is also impressive


The pastries in Portugal are an absolute delight! You have to try a pastel de nata!



Pastel de nata's (seen above) are eaten with a dusting ... or in my case a fog of cinnamon and powdered sugar.





126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page