top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMelissa Dollheiser

Milano [Milan] Italy

Updated: Jun 30, 2022

Short vacations like this weekend trip, is sometimes all it takes to unwind, take in new sights and impressions, and feed that inner travel bug. My newly travel buddy, Nathalie joined me on this escapade to bella Italia! From Munich we took a 6 hour bus ride overnight and arrived one early Friday morning in the city of Milan! With tummies ready for all things pizza, pasta, and gelato and palettes keen for a good sip of red wine we took in as much as we could during our three day stay in this city.


Over the years I heard mixed reviews of Milan - most famously known as the fashion capital of Italy (I needed no more convincing to add it to my travel list) others described it as rather lacklustre and industrial. I mean compare Milan with Rome or Venice then sure it's not the most beautiful sister in the family, however! I don't think it is fair to compare two cities with each-other as both offer their own flair and charm. So with that I say, go for it - pack your bags and experience all that Milan has to offer! Personally, I think around three days is enough in order to check off all that one should see/visit/shop/eat/drink while in this fashion capital. And bonus - Milan is quite budget friendly unlike its star siblings, Rome or Venice.


Our three day stay consisted of roaming the streets, visiting the Cathedral (History was never my thing but for 20euros I highly suggest checking out this work of legit art), strolling through the local park, riding the tram, and my non-food related highlight of the trip thrifting through the flea markets to score amazing clothes!! As for the food...pizza, pasta, gelato, vino, cannolis, cappuccinos and repeat.


And if you have the hunger for quality second hand/vintage clothing like me then leave more room in your suitcase than I did ... I had to carry some of my new-scored treasures over my arm on the way back from Milan to Munich.

A few of our recommendations in Milan: - Assaje this may be a franchise restaurant however the pizza I ate here was without a doubt in the top 5 yummiest, drooliest, freshest, holy sh*t pizza's I have ever had. I literally had my eyes closed for some parts of the consumption. You are also given three complimentary (small) bottles of Italian liquor at the end - my drunken greedy state tried not-so-stealthy taking a fourth and was greeted by an unimpressed waiter. Also, shout out to our new Italian friend, Ricardo who was seated beside our table and so generously paid for our meal! https://www.assaje.it/ - Amore traditional Sicilian style bakery - the cannoli's were very much drool worthy and the staff super friendly and forthcoming. I would believe everything they bake and create is scoring around 10/10. https://www.instagram.com/amore_sicilianbakery/?hl=en

- Vetusta Insigna located in the area of Navigli this cozy little restaurant offers many Italian favourites ... careful you don't eat too much otherwise squeezing through the closely placed tables could get tricky ;) https://vetustainsigna.eatbu.com/?lang=en


- Casimiro La Gelateria this may have been the most I have ever paid for an ice cream cone in Europe (3euros) but the portion was huge and the taste delectable and oh so chocolatey. https://casimirolab.it/ - Macha so not Italian but still a great place to eat and drink all things Matcha ... I mean some of us Millennials have it running through our veins. https://www.machacafe.it/


So there you have it! Nathalie and my visit to Milan! I'm happy to call her one of my travel mates and friends and am excited for future adventures we will take together...and to one day find the best place for smoothie bowls!


Thanks for reading, friends now keeeeep scrooolliiiiinnggg!!












The area of Navigli is a must when in Milano - a canal, shops, restaurants and flea markets with great second hand finds!

Flea Market in Navigli

We both did very well in our second hand hunt sifting through countless clothing racks and piles of clothes.








67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page