top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMelissa Dollheiser

Kraków [Cracow] Poland

May/June 2021: it has taken me quite a while to write this blog-post due to a combination of corona brain fog and the fact that in Munich we finally get to go out to bars, restaurants, shops, museums, etc. after a very long lockdown


My first trip to Krakow was during my exchange in Warsaw, then a second time in the fall of 2018. Both were weekend trips that although short and sweet weren't enough time for me to fully soak up all this city has to offer. Alas, I travelled over to Krakow to visit one of my dearest friends, Marianna whom I met while on exchange in Warsaw back in 2017. Our friendship has remained fun, loyal, and consistent since then. We hadn't seen each other since a month-ish before corona hit on my 27th birthday in Munich. NOW was finally the time to see each other again.


I spent two very social, fun, busy, sunny, and tipsy weeks in Krakow (with a weekend trip to Warsaw). I'm happy for all the new encounters and friendships I made during my stay. On the last few days my other dearest friend, Lea hopped over from Munich for her very first visit to Poland! And, I believe it left a positive and lasting first impression on her.


On to the city - Krakow (Cracow) is a both a quaint and modern city. It's castle and generations old churches, old main square, and Polish folk like flair harmoniously folds in the present day culture of independent coffee shops and bakeries (Krakow has a thriving cafe culture), music and event scene, and endless vegan/vegetarian eatery's. I believe any age or even lifestyle group would find their niche in Krakow.


Krakow is situated alongside the Vistula River which one can view best from the Wawel Castle or Cathedral. The castle grounds are free to roam with tours being offered almost hourly. There are also a number of parks in this city. One being Parque Parkocska - this green space almost entirely encircles the old town which only adds to the humble vibes this city gives off. Kazimierz, the historic jewish part of the city that has evolved into an artsy and hip area with one book, cafe, and vintage shop after another. Ah yes, another note - great vintage shopping Krakow!

To summarize, Krakow is great. You should visit and during that visit take on some of my tips, eat pierogi and pączki and have a shot ;)


Scroll down for a visual impressions of my travels and for my food/drink recommendations. And thank YOU to Marianna for taking me to all these establishments and for housing me for two very lovely weeks. You're the best <3


Breakfast/Cafe

- Cafe Camelot - a breakfast/lunch eatery nestled in a historical space with a 1920's theatrical vibe. They have a very extensive breakfast and lunch menu with all the beverages to accompany a tasty and fresh meal.

- Charlotte french eatery with their catch phrase being "chleb i wino" (bread and wine). Good options for take-away but I highly suggest dining in and enjoying a french inspired brunch with a glass of bubbly to wash it down. Très bien!


- Szklarnia (sz = sh (eng)) yummy, yummy vegan cakes and tortes!! When us three girls went we had a struggle trying to decide which to have...really where else can you find a home-made vegan bounty cake?! Drool city.


Lunch

- Bar Mleczny As previously mentioned in my Warsaw post - translated to "milk bars" this the place to go for traditional, no-fuss, quick, tasty and low price Polish food. Some can be described as "canteen like" while other's that I have gone to were like Babcia's kitchen. As the name suggests they do cook with much dairy however many non-dairy/meat-free options are available as well. And try the Pierogi!!

English very rarely exists in these establishments so bring a polish friend or a translator ;)


- Holy Humus As the name suggests, this eatery serves up multiple tasty and fresh in-house made humuses on....pitta dough shaped like a pizza featuring many yummy (vegan/vegetarian) toppings! Humus pita-pizza?!! Such a brilliant food invention that it leaves me wondering why I never thought of this delicious concept. Defiantly ate here a number of times during my stay in Krakow.


- Farma hands down one of the BEST vegan burgers I have consumed. No further words needed to justify this piece of eatable art.


Dinner

- Dynia (pumpkin) and yes as you can guess they serve a number of tasty pumpkin dishes like pumpkin gnocchi for example. So much yum on one table! Defiantly worth a visit ... or two.


- Akita delicious and fresh tummy warming ramen with vegan options. I drank a cucumber/nori lemonade! Don't hate it till you've tried it ;)


- Zielona Kuchnia translated into "green kitchen" this restaurant is on the fine/upper scale of dining and worth every grosze! (cent). Delectable.


- Zalipianki this was the first restaurant I went to during my trip to Krakow AND my first restaurant since the end of a very long lockdown, therefore I was grateful, happy, and tipsy.

Ah yes, and of course the food was delicious - modern Italian and Polish inspired fresh cuisine seated in a winter garden terrace.


- Bonjour Pho authentic Vietnamese cuisine with a vast menu of options. Many vegan/vegetarian options available ;) I guarantee you and your tummy will leave feeling satisfied ... and maybe even wanting to book a ticket to Vietnam.


Drinks

- William Rabbit & Co. one of the coolest and also trickiest bars I have been to. It's located very central in Kazimierz but not necessarily easy to find, why? ... You'll have to make a trip to Krakow to find that out ;) Cocktails made of perfection and will, upon request be customized to your tastbud's liking by one of the talented mixologists.


- Hala Forum a very fun hangout spot located outside along the Vistula River. Both outside and inside are food and drink vendors serving up many yummy treats. A modern/hip food court, if you will. Great place to meet with a group of friends. Lea and I arrived first, then Marianna, then the rest of our friends. Lea and I ended up staying there a total of...eight straight hours. To say we had fun is a slight understatement - I guess next time we'll pitch a tent in order to stay another eight.


- Pijalnia Wódki i Piwa (vodka and beer) A night out in Poland isn't complete without at least one visit (including at least one, two, etc. shots) to one of their endless shot bars. They come cheap and strong at 5zl/shot (ca. 1,20euro). And serve your typical shots you would find elsewhere in Europe or Canada. A polish classic however (stay with me) is vodka, raspberry syrup with a few drops of tabasco hot sauce :D ... your taste buds will be confused but your state of mind at ease ;)



Krakow - a city with a castle, the Wawel castle. Located on the Vistual River.

My resting diva face may not give it away BUT I very much enjoyed my stay here. In the background is the Wawel Castel. Also, these are my Polish pants that might look like Babcia's tablecloth but I love them.


A city with catchy street art.

A city located in a country with the best Pączki (donuts) this planet may have to offer.

And many second hand books which I sadly could not read with my low level knowledge of the Polish language.

A city that houses one of my closest friends, Marianna <3


A city so convincing that my other close friend Lea came allll the way from Munich to visit. Here we are at the Wawel Castle/Cathedral.

The main square in all its glory.

The main square and its postcard perfection.

Summer (lato) in Poland.



Marianna and I channeling two quite opposing alter-ego's...

...and then the table broke! A laugh till you have tears kind of moment.





A cute cafe that I didn't go into but thought looked cute from the outside. ...I have one too many useless anecdotes up my sleeve.


It will be alright. <3

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page