top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMelissa Dollheiser

München [Munich] Germany

Updated: Jun 18, 2021


There's much I could write about Munich but where to begin...the capital of Bavaria, the home of the Oktoberfest, great beer (in Bavaria beer is considered "grundnahrungsmittel" meaning its a staple food-group... you really can't top that in the coolness charts), pretzels, attractive people, slightly pretentious and overpriced bars and eatery's, bike-friendly (is an understatement), pretzels, the place they gave beer its very own garden, my parents' hometown, my second-hometown, obatzda (the cheese dip of dreams -- my dear

plant-eaters it's so delicious the cows might just turn a blind-eye on this one), pretzels, a stone's throw from the mountains, Viktualienmarkt (a farmers market where old men go to drink as a profession), the English-Garden, tourists, did I mention Munich has the best pretzels?


The list goes on, so for those who have yet to come to Munich, stop wasting your time wherever you are and come visit this city instead. If Warsaw (as I mentioned) is the Grandma who cooks well, then Munich is the Grandma who gives the best hugs and always has beer in the fridge (hmm, I'm not certain what I mean with that statement but I'll go with it).


So here we go - Munich, my love.


Side note: as I continue to live here, the photo's should keep streaming in ;)


June, 2018: Sun setting over Maximilianstraße. To the left is the Bavarian National Theater.

May, 2018: Olympiadorf - student residence living on a different level. Each building? Cubicle? has been individually painted by the students themselves. ...In my first residence building in Canada, we weren't even allowed to open the window all the way, jeez.

October, 2018: I guess the money shot of sorts. To the right is "das neue Rathaus" - the new City Hall. To the left are the "Frauenkirche" - the woman's church (no there aren't any gender restrictions in place).

September, 2018: My sister and her babies (I also call them my babies) at the Chinesischer Turm in the English Garden. Yes in German families it is perfectly acceptable to be seen in a photo with a Mass (1L of beer) with your children...after all beer is considered a main food stable in Bavaria ;)

September, 2018: A questionable amount of König Ludwig head statues at Schloss Nymphenburg in the north-west part of the city. König Ludwig was the King of Bavaria from 1864 - 1886.

October, 2018: Augustiner Bräu, one of a handful of breweries and beloved beers in Munich. ... depending whom you ask, potentially the most popular beer of the young Munich crowd.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page