top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMelissa Dollheiser

Tofino, British Columbia - Canada

This dreamy Westcoast surf town lies on the eastern side of Vancouver Island - the next slab of land beside Tofino is...Japan! Standing on the sandy shores it literally is "as far as the eye can see". Tofino has become an international travel destination for surfers, hikers, campers, and mountain-bikers alike. But to me, Tofino will always be the childhood autumn "tofu in Tofino" long weekend getaway.


Mama-Doll and I awoke at 7am one Monday in September to road-trip the three hours (one way) to our favourite surfer/hippie town. NO, we did not go surfing, you see Mama-Doll and I are both Aquarians which makes our "air headed nature" at times completely oblivious to such obvious activities such as going surfing in a surfer town - hmm... achh ja Schatz!


Many European visitor's namely, Swiss, Dutch, and German have flocked over to this treasured spot. I had the experience, while there, of startling a group of Swiss women in one of the only bakeries in town, when I shouted across the room "Maamaaaa! Do you want anything? ...no? should I buy bread? ... yeah? which one??". And startled they were --

half-way across the world hearing instead of their native Swiss-German, some seemingly Canadian chick speaking a very faint Bavarian-German dialect to her mother. Being German this would happen in a bakery of all places.


So after that encounter how did Mama-Doll and I spend our time? We, well...just scroll for the photos and you'll have an impression :)


P.S. if you ever make your way to this gem of a beach town, pay careful attention when driving along the road, for bears! Not that I want to deter anyone from going. I was more adding that last point, as a sort of "highway attraction" ... brown bears just sit around and sleep, eating berries and salmon, so anyone who stays in their car should be fine ;)


P.P.S I should mention how amazing (as I've been told) Tacofino is. I tried to find this little Mexican food-truck with apparently the BEST vegetarian burritos around, and sadly did not succeed. Yes, I can hear the fellow Tacofino eaters scoffing at me right now -- whatever, I hope you enjoy your burrito! I'm still upset I missed out on this "amaza-rrito".


1993 - Mama-Doll and my first trip to Tofino during my first year of life.

That may even be the same slab of rock.

Where the magic begins...












My dad's name is Axel, this was a bit awkward.

Us <3

Actually located in Ucluelet, a small town located about 20 minutes south of Tofino.

If you squint your eyes enough, you might see Japan!

Forever loving the BC views.

Farewell, from our furry friends.

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page